Generation “Yners”

blog1

Researchers have documented the general classification that Generation Y folks were born between 1980-2000.

This blog only reflects a small percentage of those born within those dates, so more than likely if you are reading this I am not writing about you. However if some of my opinions sound familiar or upset you, my only advice is:

GET YOUR SHIT TOGETHER!!!

In order to express myself accurately, I will reference my brother Bob (or Rob) depending on the name you prefer to call him. Bob is a Generation Xer. He has overcome a multitude of adversities, and no he wasn’t /isn’t perfect, but he never used his adversities as excuses. Since I can remember, he has been a go-getter. He has always held at least two jobs. If he didn’t have a car to get to work, or shit anywhere he needed to go for that matter, did he bitch or beg to get where he needed to go? To my knowledge NO!!! What did Bob do? He fuckin WALKED!!! No not the often referenced “uphill, both ways in the snow” (but maybe he did, who knows), but he did walk MILES. I remember being told of a story where he walked over the bridge into Philadelphia with his broken ankle in a moon boot cast type thingy. So I have no sympathy nor respect for Generation Yners who complain when they can’t do something because it’s too hard or too far, or no one will help them.

GET YOUR SHIT TOGETHER!!!

Bob’s temper has caused him to lose his job at times, but did he whine, bitch, crawl into a corner and cry and beg for handouts? UM NO!!! My brother would again WALK to places he saw were hiring and apply for a job. Of course he was told no at times, but when that happened, he sometimes would speak to the manager and say, “I’ll tell you what. Let me work for you for one day for free and show you I am a hard worker. At the end of the day. I’ll give you my number. Call me if want to hire me”

I tell ya what, I heard from a reliable source (Hi Mom) that Bob didn’t make it out the door before most bosses offered him a job.

So yeah Generation Yners:

GET YOUR SHIT TOGETHER!!!

To make it even more personal. I became disabled in 2012. Shit sucks. My income was cut in half. I actually want to work, but I physically and mentally can’t. So what am I doing now?

The best I can.

There are days when it exhausts me just to get up and fix myself something to eat, but I do it. Shit I may even have to take a nap after I write this, but I am making the effort. There are days I “fail”, but I don’t let that deter me from trying again. So it’s aggravating to see a physically and mentally capable person constantly doing the bare minimum.

My advice to the Generation Yners:

**Stop looking for a quick and easy way to make money. There isn’t one. What the above picture doesn’t show you that the “Easy Money” path leads straight to a dead end.

YOU HAVE TO WORK!!!

HARD!!!

**Stop looking for handouts: It’s okay to ask for help every once in a while, but when you do it constantly, it pisses the hard workers off, and “we” get sick of helping you. Shit, it takes everything in our power to handle our own.

** Stop Whining:Do you realize all of the energy you are using to complain about your situation can be used to change your situation? Besides all of that energy gets released into the Universe and will stay with you. No one wants to hire or be around negative people.

**Stop Self Sabotaging:Staying high or inebriated, WILL NOT HELP YOUR SITUATION, as a matter of fact it HURTS it. At least stay sober enough to pass the piss test. If you can’t do THAT, check yourself into a program to get help. Some of these programs are free, or almost free, and there are some that will help you find a job upon completion. If you don’t wanna stop your habits, quite frankly, you don’t wanna work

**The Internet can be a tool to assist you in finding a job or programs that can help you. If you only use the “net” to promote nonsense, you will be deemed as a person with NO SENSE!!!

** Create a LEGAL hustle: Mow lawns and yard work, or go to the store, laundromat for folk. Offer your services to the elderly and/or disabled who need your help. Set a reasonable price and DO THE BEST JOB you can.

** Accept what you are given: If someone is offering you twenty dollars a day to clean up giraffe shit, DO IT!!! That’s $140 dollars a week more than what you had to start!!! Will you smell like giraffe shit? Yes. Will you be exhausted? Yes. But exhaustion is synonymous with HARD WORK.

But you would know that if you quit your Yning and DID IT.

Live from Bungalow part Deux.

~bohipsy~

 

Leave a Reply

